Participating institutions

Three French institutions are currently operating magnetic observatories under the auspices of the BCMT:

Institut de Physique du Globe de Paris, IPGP (11 observatories),
École et Observatoire des Sciences de la Terre, EOST (6 observatories),
Institut de Recherche pour le Développement, IRD (1 observatory).

The instrumental developments are carried out at the Chambon-la-Forêt observatory, where the IPGP technical team is based.

A fourth institution hosts the International Service of Geomagnetic Indices (ISGI), which provides data products derived from magnetic observatory data:

Observatoire Versailles Saint Quentin (OVSQ), belonging to Institut Pierre Simon Laplace (IPSL) and Université Versailles Saint Quentin (UVSQ).

Additional funding and staffing is provided to the BCMT by various French agencies:

Institut National des Sciences de l’Univers (INSU),
Institut Polaire Français Paul-Émile Victor (IPEV),
Centre National d’Études Spatiales (CNES),
Commissariat à l’Énergie Atomique (CEA).

Worldwide BCMT operations are made possible by collaborations with the following foreign institutions:

• Geophysical Observatory of Addis Ababa University (GO AAU), Ethiopia,
Borok Geophysical Observatory, Institute of Physics of the Earth of the Russian Academy of Sciences (BGO IPERAS), Russia,
Istituto Nazionale di Geofisica e Vulcanologia, Italy,
Dirección Meteorológica de Chile (DMC), Chile,
• Lanzhou Institute of Seismology, China Earthquake Administration (LIS CEA), China,
• Institute of Geophysics, Vietnamese Academy of Science and Technology (IG VAST), Vietnam,
National Center for Geophysical Research (NCGR), Lebanon,
Centre de Recherche en Astronomie, Astrophysique et Géophysique (CRAAG), Algeria,
Institut et Observatoire Géophysique d’Antananarivo (IOGA), Madagascar.